The Masters

The inaugural Australian Masters Golf Tournament was played at Huntingdale Golf Club in 1979 and fast became Australia’s premier professional golf event, attracting some of the most famous names in world golf, including Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, Seve Ballesteros, Greg Norman, Nick Faldo, Geoff Ogilvy and world number one Tiger Woods.

The most famous Masters participant is still the great white shark, Australia’s own Greg Norman. Norman has won 6 times at Huntingdale with his victory in 1990 over Nick Faldo and with his record smashing romp in 1987 his most famous of victories.

In 2008 Huntingdale celebrated the 30th consecutive year of hosting the Australian Masters was justifiably recognised as ‘Home of The Australian Masters’.

In November 2015, Huntingdale continued the tradition and hosted the Australian Masters for the 31st time.