The Masters

The inaugural Australian Masters Golf Tournament was played at Huntingdale Golf Club in 1979 and fast became Australia's premier professional golf event, attracting some of the most famous names in world golf, including Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, Seve Ballesteros, Greg Norman, Nick Faldo, Geoff Ogilvy and world number one Tiger Woods.

The most famous Masters participant is still the great white shark, Australia's own Greg Norman. Norman has won 6 times at Huntingdale with his victory in 1990 over Nick Faldo and with his record smashing romp in 1987 his most famous of victories.

In 2008 Huntingdale celebrated the 30th consecutive year of hosting the Australian Masters was justifiably recognised as 'Home of The Australian Masters'.

In November 2015, Huntingdale continued the tradition and hosted the Australian Masters for the 31st time.

Click here to view the winners of the Masters over the years.

Masters photos from over the years

2004 Masters at Huntingdale

Justin Rose, winner in 2006

Aaron Baddely, winner in 2007

Marcus Fraser at the 2008 Masters (Getty Images)

Brad Hughes, winner in 1993 and 1998

Finish to the 2002 Masters

Peter Lonard, winner in 2002

Tiger Woods at the Masters

Clockwise from top left: Greg Norman (1987); Barry Vivian inaugural Masters winner; Tiger Woods in 1997; founder David Inglis.

Masters trophy

Rod Pampling, winner in 2008

Rory McIllroy at the Masters

Rain Delay

Tiger Woods at the Masters

Aaron Baddely, winner in 2007

Robert Allenby on his way to victory (2003)

Robert Allenby, winner in 2003 and 2005

Robert Allenby, winner in 2003 and 2005

Robert Allenby, winner in 2003 and 2005

The Masters at Huntingdale

The Masters at Huntingdale (15th Hole)

The Masters at Huntingdale

Richard Green, winner in 2004

The Australian Masters at Huntingdale, 2004

The Masters at Huntingdale

Some Masters moments from the early years